veski at ATSE Clunies Ross Awards

21 May

One of veski's founding directors, past chairman and eminent scientist, Professor Alan Trounson was guest speaker at Australia's prestigious 2010 ATSE Clunies Ross Awards in Melbourne recently.

The event saw six scientists or scientific teams receiving the ATSE Clunies Ross Awards at a presentation dinner with more than 400 eminent entrepreneurs, decision makers, government officials, researchers, academics and business leaders. veski was well represented by members of the board including current chairman Professor Snow Barlow, directors Ron Douglas and John Denton; veski chief executive officer Julia Page and veski innovation fellows Professor Sarah Hosking, Associate Professor Ygal Haupt, Dr Ross Dickins and Professor Edwin van Leeuwen were also in attendance accompanied by their respective partners.

veski's past chair, Professor Trounson is an Australian IVF pioneer and founder of the Australian Stem Cell Centre. He is now President of the Californian Institute for Regenerative Medicine in the US with a billion dollar budget.

During his speech he urged Australian scientists to 'get globalised'. Prof Trounson says the best people work together and the future for Australia will be scientists privileged to come back here to collaborate.

The winners of the 2010 ATSE Clunies Ross Awards are leading Australian innovators in diverse fields such as nuclear science, WLAN technology, mining technology, implant technology and microelectronics and health. The annual Awards for the ATSE (Australian Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering) Clunies Ross Foundation were set up to honour the work of renowned scientist Sir Ian Clunies Ross who is best known for his pioneering work in veterinary sciences and as Chairman of the CSIRO.

The Chairman of the ATSE Clunies Ross Foundation, Bruce Kean told the audience that this year’s ATSE Clunies Ross Award winners have made significant and positive impacts on the lives of many Australians and the economy through the development and commercialization of health, communication and industrial innovations.

Kean says that like Sir Ian Clunies Ross, their willingness to take risks, their innovation and far-sightedness deserve respect and commendation. The Awards recognise Australia’s pre-eminent scientists and technologists who have bridged the gap between research and the marketplace and are awarded to people who have persisted with their ideas, often against the odds, to the point that their innovations are making a real difference to the economic, social or environmental benefit of Australia.

They follow in the footsteps of past winners such as Dr Fiona Wood, inventor of spray-on skin; 2010 veski innovation fellow Professor Edwin van Leeuwen, for his airborne gravity matching; Professor Ian Frazer, inventor of the cervical cancer vaccine; Professor Stuart Wenham, a leader in photovoltaics research, and Dr Barry Marshall, who discovered the bacteria causing stomach ulcers.

The 2010 ATSE Clunies Ross Award winners are:

Dr John Boldeman FTSE, Institute of Nuclear Science, University of Sydney and Researcher/ Designer, ANSTO, Sydney

A special Lifetime Contribution award to Dr John Boldeman for his single-minded scientific brilliance combined with exceptional personal commitment to his goals – particularly in the establishment of two national icon projects: the ANTARES Tandem Accelerator and the Australian Synchrotron.

Professor Tim St Pierre, School of Physics, University of WA

Tim St Pierre is a physicist who has researched the magnetic properties of iron in biology and medicine for 25 years and has developed a non-invasive – and risk and pain-free – method of both measuring and imaging the tissue-damaging iron deposits in the human liver caused by disease such as thalassaemia and hereditary haemochromatosis.

Mr Andrew Jessett, CEO, MineWare Pty Ltd, Brisbane

At 33 years of age, Andrew Jessett’s exceptional achievements have played a key role in positioning Australia as a world leader in the development of mining technology, while delivering substantial productivity, safety and economic benefits to Australia’s open-cut coal mining industry.

The Team Behind the ‘WLAN’ Technology That Changed the World

John O’Sullivan, CSIRO; Graham Daniels, CSIRO; Terence Percival, NICTA; Diethelm Ostry, CSIRO and John Deane (formerly CSIRO) invented, patented and demonstrated the wireless local area network (WLAN) technology that underpins the wireless communication system installed in almost every laptop and wireless device and made available in buildings around the world.

Dr John Parker FTSE, Chief Technology Officer, Implant Technologies, NICTA, Sydney

The hearing implant technologies developed under the direction of Dr Parker and his team at Cochlear Ltd have improved the quality of life of tens of thousands of recipients around the world and generated considerable social and economic benefit to Australia.

Dr David Skellern FTSE, CEO, National ICT Australia and Dr Neil Weste FTSE Director and Founder, NHEW R&D, Sydney

The interwoven careers of David Skellern and Neil Weste in the field of microelectronics came together in 1997 when they co-founded Radiata Communications – Neil as CEO and David as CTO. This decision led to contributions to and the first implementation of a new international data communication protocol and eventually to the company being bought by Cisco Systems.

What's On